List of Chief Ministers-1947 0NWARDS


Took officeLeft officeTermParty
1P. G. N. UnnithanAugust, 1947March, 19481
2Pattom A. Thanu Pillai24 March 194820 October 19481Indian National Congress
3Parur T. K. Narayana Pillai20 October 194830 June 19491Indian National Congress


NameTook officeLeft officeTermParty
1Panampilly Govinda Menon1 September 1947October, 19471
2T. K. Nair27 October 194720 September 19481
3E. Ikkanda Warrier20 September 194830 June 1949


After India's independence in 1947, Travancore and Cochin were merged to form Travancore-Cochin on 1 July 1949. On 1 January 1950 (Republic Day), Travancore-Cochin was recognised as a state.

#[4]NameTook officeLeft officeTermPartyRegion
1Parur T. K. Narayana Pillai1 July 1949January, 19511Indian National CongressTravancore
2C. KesavanJanuary, 195112 March 19521Indian National CongressTravancore
3A. J. John, Anaparambil12 March 195216 March 19541Indian National CongressTravancore
4Pattom A. Thanu Pillai16 March 195410 February 19551Praja Socialist PartyTravancore
5Panampilly Govinda Menon10 February 195523 March 19561Indian National CongressCochin
President's rule[3]23 March 19565 April 1957


The political state of Kerala in India was created in 1956 when erstwhile Travancore-Cochin was renamed

The Government of India's 1 November 1956 States Reorganisation Act inaugurated the new Kerala state, incorporating Malabar District, Travancore-Cochin (excluding 4 southern Taluks which were merged with Tamil Nadu), and the taluk of Kasaragod, South Kanara.A new Legislative Assembly was also created, for which elections were held in 1957. These resulted in a communist-led government — world's first democratically-elected— headed by E.M.S. Namboodiripad.

Took officeLeft officeTermParty
1E. M. S. Namboodiripad5 April 195731 July 19591Communist Party of India
President's Rule31 July 195922 February 1960
2Pattom Thanupillai22 February 196026 September 19621Praja Socialist Party
3R. Sankar26 September 196210 September 19641Indian National Congress
President's Rule10 September 196406 March 1967
4E. M. S. Namboodiripad6 March 19671 November 19692Communist Party of India (Marxist)
5C. Achutha Menon1 November 19691 August 19701Communist Party of India
President's Rule1 August 19704 October 1970
6C. Achutha Menon4 October 197025 March 19772Communist Party of India
7K. Karunakaran25 March 197725 April 19771Indian National Congress
8A.K. Antony27 April 197727 October 19781Indian National Congress
9P. K. Vasudevan Nair29 October 19787 October 19791Communist Party of India
10C. H. Mohammed Koya12 October 19791 December 19791Indian Union Muslim League
President's Rule01 December 197925 January 1980
11E. K. Nayanar25 January 198020 October 19811Communist Party of India (Marxist)
12K. Karunakaran28 December 198117 March 19822Indian National Congress
13K. Karunakaran24 May 198225 March 19873Indian National Congress
14E. K. Nayanar26 March 198717 June 19912Communist Party of India (Marxist)
15K. Karunakaran24 June 199116 March 19954Indian National Congress
16A. K. Antony22 March 19959 May 19962Indian National Congress
17E. K. Nayanar20 May 199613 May 20013Communist Party of India (Marxist)
18A. K. Antony17 May 200129 August 20043Indian National Congress
19Oommen Chandy31 August 200418 May 20061Indian National Congress
20V.S. Achuthanandan18 May 200614 May 20111Communist Party of India (Marxist)
21Oommen ChandyMay 2011incumbent2Indian National Congress