prisoner of one's beliefs- in- good time and bad time

  • The RK: means the Rahu kalam (Tamizh: Raghu kalam). The rising period of Rahu is considered inauspicious in the South as he is considered a malefic for auspicious functions. The time frame indicates rahu kalam duration. (RK:09:03-10:06). Please avoid this time for your muhurtha.
  • The YM: means the Yamagandam kalam. Yamaganda is the son of Guru and he is also considered inauspicious. The time frame indicates yama kalam duration. (YM:11:09-12:12). Please avoid this time for your muhurtha.
  • The GK: means the Gulika kalam (Gulikai). Gulika is also called Mandi (i. e. the son of Manda alias Shani). His rising period is also not auspicious. The time frame indicates Gulika kalam duration. (GK:09:03-10:06). Please avoid this time for your muhurtha. Rahu kalam, Yama kalam, Gulika (Kulika) needs to be avoided as they are inauspicious times.
  • The AJ: means Abhijit Muhurtha (AJ: 12:30- 13:18). It is Sri Hari Vishnu's time. When you don't have any muhurtham you can use this time if its not overlapped by rahu kalam or durmuhurtham, or varjyam. On Wednesday abhijit muhurtham is bad as its the same time as durmuhurtham, hence we gave only durmuhurtham time on wednesday not the abhijit muhurtha time. For other days please check rahu kalam as well.
  • The DM: means Durmuhurtha (DM:: 10:34- 11:22, 15:22- 16:10) means first Durmuhurtham starts at 10:34 AM till 11:22 AM and the next one starts at 15:22 PM to 16:10 PM. These times should be avoided for any good ceremonies.
  • The V:: means Varjyam or Vishagatika (V:30:00-31:37) means varjyam starts at 6:00 AM of following day and lasts till 7:37 AM of following day. There could be more than one varjyam line. This time is not a good time. Please avoid in all muhurthams. Please donot perform annaprasana samskara in this time as this this visha-gatika time.
  • The AK:: means Amritkala (AK: 15:13- 16:53) means Amrita kala starts at 3:13 PM till 16:53 period. This is a good time. There could be more than one Amrit kala line. This time is good for annaprasanam samskara as well as other rituals.
  • General purpose good Day (Vaar): Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.
    General purpose good Tithi: 2 (Dwitiya), 3 (Tritiya), 5 (Panchami), 7 (Saptami), 10 (Dashami), 11 (Ekadashi), 13 (Trayodashi -- shukla paksha only). 1 (Prathama - Krishna Paksha Only). Please avoid Krishna Paksha 13 (Trayodashi), 14 (Chaturdashi), and Amavasya in all good work. Please also avoid Shukla paksha's 1 (Prathama) in all goog work. Please avoid rikta tithis 4-9-14 (From both paksha) in all good work.
    Good Tithi for Wedding: All days (Vaara) are good for wedding. Please avoid Rikta 4-9-14, Krishna Trayodashi, Amavasya, Shukla Paksha prathama 1 tithi. Rest of tithis are good for weddings. According to some Rikta tithi 4-9-14 can be taken, but avoid 14 in krishna paksha.
    Good Tithi for Grahapravesha: Avoid Sunday, and Tuesday. Avoid Shukla paksha's 1-4-9-14, and Krishna Paksha's 4-9-13-14-Amavasya. Rest tithis are good for Grahapravesha.
    Good Tithi for Buying a New Vehicle: 7-11-15. Avoid Amavasya
The next line is nakshatra. The Nakshatra name is followed by N.Nakshatra is also known as star

General purpose good Nakshatras: Ashwini, Rohini, Mrigashirsha, Punarvasu, Pushya, U.Phalguni, Hasta, Chitra, Swati, Anuradha, U.Shadha, Shravan, Dhanishtha, Shatabhisha, U.Bhadrapada, Revati. Please avoid your janma-nakshatra for all good works
Pushya, U.Phalguni, Hasta, Chitra, Swati, Anuradha, U.Shadha, Shravan, Dhanishtha, Shatabhisha, U.Bhadrapada, Revati. Please avoid your janma-nakshatra for all good works
The next line is Yoga. The Yoga name is followed by Y
Good Yoga: Please avoid Vyatipata, Vaidriti, Parigha, Vishkumbha, Vajra, Shoola, Atiganda, Vyagata
The next two lines are Karana. Karana name is indicated by K
There are two karanas per thithi hence there are two lines for karana,
Good Karana: Please avoid Vishti (Bhadra) Karana
The next line if sun changes the sign or rasi that day it will have a line SN:
For example: Makara samkaranti is when sun enters makara rashi
Note for Muhurtha: Please avoid day of eclipse and the six hours before and after from the time of samkranti for any good work / muhurtha
The next line is MN: which means moon sign changes, which means moon and the rasi after that is the rasi moon is changing to the time is the time when moon will enter that rasi or sign on that day.
A Note on chandra bala in muhurtha: Chandra Balam is important in weddings, and other rituals. Tarabalam is more subtle. Counting from your moon rashi (Hindu rashi) to the day's chandra rashi if the count is 1,3,6,7,10,11 then that day will be good for you.
About Chogadia Table: Chogadia used for checking auspicious time to start new work. Traditionally chogadia is used only for travel muhurthas only but due to simplicity it is used widely for any muhurtha. There are four good chogadia to start auspicious work -- Amrit, Shubh, Labh and Chal. Three bad chaugadia are Rog, kaal, Udyog. Mostly people calculate chogadia from 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Lagna Table. Lagna is the rising sign on the eastern horizon at a given time and a given place. This changes from place to place, Hence we need longitude and latitude of the place for correct lagna. That's the another reason why indian muhurtham calculated for india can't be used outside of ind